Back to top
Article

Your Law Society of Scotland Council members

16 September 19

The full list of current members, elected, ex officio, co-opted and non-solicitor

Sheriff Court Districts of Aberdeen, Banff, Peterhead & Stonehaven

Jane Dickers
Gray & Gray LLP, Peterhead
e: jane@graygraylaw.com

Debbie Wilson-McCuish
Wilson Defence, Banff
e: debbie@wilsondefence.com

Sheriff Court Districts of Airdrie, Hamilton & Lanark

Paul Gostelow
Baker Gostelow Law Ltd, Blantyre
e: pgostelow@hotmail.co.uk

Paul Nicolson
Nicolson O’Brien, Airdrie
e: paul.nicolson@nicolsonobrien.co.uk

Sheriff Court Districts of Alloa, Falkirk, Linlithgow & Stirling

Ken Dalling
Dalling Solicitors, Stirling
e: kd@dallings.co.uk

John Mulholland (President)
(see ex officio members, below)

Sheriff Court Districts of Arbroath, Dundee & Forfar

Murray Etherington
Thorntons Law, Dundee
e: metherington@thorntons-law.co.uk

Sheriff Court Districts of Ayr, Dumfries, Kirkcudbright & Stranraer

Lauren Fowler
Frazer Coogans Ltd, Ayr
e: lauren.fowler@frazercoogans.co.uk

Paul Matthews
JHS-LAW, Dumfries
e: paul.matthews@jhslaw.co.uk

Sheriff Court Districts of Campbeltown, Dumbarton, Dunoon, Fort William, Oban & Rothesay

Philip Lafferty
Clyde Defence Lawyers Ltd, Clydebank
e: plafferty@clydedefencelawyers.com

Campbell Read
Stewart, Balfour & Sutherland, Campbeltown
e: campbellr@sbslaw.co.uk

Sheriff Court Districts of Cupar, Dunfermline & Kirkcaldy

Gwen Haggerty
BSW Solicitors LLP, Dunfermline
e: gwen@bastensneddon.co.uk

[One seat vacant]

Sheriff Court Districts of Dingwall, Dornoch, Elgin, Inverness, Kirkwall, Lerwick, Lochmaddy, Portree, Stornoway, Tain & Wick

Sheekha Saha
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar, Stornoway
e: s.saha@cne-siar.gov.uk

Serena Sutherland
Drever & Heddle LLP, Kirkwall
e: sks@dandhlaw.co.uk

Sheriff Court Districts of Duns, Haddington, Jedburgh, Peebles & Selkirk

Struan Ferguson
Blackwood & Smith WS, Peebles
e: struan@blackwoodsmith.com

Patricia Thom
Patricia Thom & Co, Galashiels
e: pat@patriciathom.co.uk

Sheriff Court District of Edinburgh

Colin Anderson
e: cwa53@aol.com 

Susan Murray
National Health Service Scotland
e: susana.murray@nhs.net

Susan Oswald
SKO Family Ltd
e: susan.oswald@sko-family.co.uk

Jim Stephenson
Thorley Stephenson
e: jps@thorleystephenson.com

Sheila Webster
Davidson Chalmers LLP
e: sheila.webster@davidsonchalmers.com

England & Wales

Naomi Pryde
DWF LLP, Edinburgh and London
e: naomi.pryde@dwf.law

Sheriffdom of Glasgow & Strathkelvin

Emma Crilley 
Anderson Strathern LLP
e: emmacrilley@andersonstrathern.co.uk

Austin Lafferty 
Austin Lafferty Ltd
e: alafferty@laffertylaw.com

Anne Macdonald
Harper Macleod LLP
e: anne.macdonald@harpermacleod.co.uk

David Mair
Glasgow City Council
e: david.mair@ced.glasgow.gov.uk

Ross Yuill
The Glasgow Law Practice
e: ry@theglasgowlawpractice.co.uk

Sheriff Court Districts of Greenock, Kilmarnock & Paisley

Waqqas Ashraf
Paisley Defence Lawyers (Scotland) Ltd, Paisley
e: waqqaslegal@googlemail.com

Louisa Doole
McSherry Halliday LLP, Irvine
e: led@mcsherryhalliday.co.uk

Sheriff Court District of Perth

Euan Mitchell
Castle & Water Ltd
e: euan.mitchell@castlewater.co.uk

Ex officio

John Mulholland (President)
Marshall Wilson Law Group Ltd, Falkirk
e: president@lawscot.org.uk

Amanda Miller (Vice President)
McCash & Hunter LLP, Perth
e: vicepresident@lawscot.org.uk

Alison Atack (Past President)
Lindsays
e: pastpresident@lawscot.org.uk

Christine McLintock
Convener, Public Policy Committee
e: christinegibb26@gmail.com

Co-opted

Amanda Davy
Burness Paull LLP, Aberdeen (new lawyers’ representative)
e: amanda.davy@burnesspaull.com

John Forsyth
Lloyds Banking Group plc, Edinburgh
e: john.forsyth@lloydsbanking.com

Siobhan Kahmann (representative for Scottish solicitors outside Great Britain)
Covington & Burling LLP, Brussels 
e: skahmann@cov.com

Stephen McGowan
Procurator Fiscal Service, Edinburgh
e: stephen.mcgowan@copfs.gsi.gov.uk

Ruaraidh Macniven 
Scottish Government Legal Service
e: solicitor@gov.scot

Tom Marshall
Tom Marshall Law Ltd, Aberdour (representative for solicitor advocates)
e: tom@tommarshalllaw.co.uk

Sheeka Saha
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar, Stornaway (Co-convener, In-house Lawyers' Commitee)
e: s.saha@cne-siar.gov.uk

Non-solicitor members

  • Susan Carter (East Midlands) 
  • Christopher Fraser (Inverness) 
  • Fiona Larg (Inverness)
  • Liam McCabe (Stirling) 
  • Derek McIntyre (Glasgow)
  • Catriona Maclean (Edinburgh)
  • John Reid (Stirling)
  • Christine Walsh (Glasgow)
  • Graham Watson (Earlsferry)

See the full list with pictures in this month's issue, or click here to download a PDF

Have your say