Back to top
News In Focus

Glasgow Academy retains Dewar Debate title

18 June 2010

Glasgow Academy emerged as the winners of this year's Donald Dewar Debating Tournament for Schools, after a closely fought contest held in the debating chamber of the Scottish Parliament last night.

The winning team of Oscar Lee and Seamus McGuigan collected the tournament trophy and £1,000 for their school, which retains the title it first won last year.

Collecting the runners-up prize of £250 for their school were Adam Brand and Gavin Todd of Craigmount High School, Edinburgh. The judges also commended the performances of the other finalists, Jenny House and Ujani Basu, of St Margaret’s School for Girls, Aberdeen, and Michael Weir and Miriam Malek, from Madras College, St Andrews.

This year the Society teamed up with the Scottish European Educational Trust to engage the schools in issues relating to Europe. The finalists had to speak for or against the motion "This House believes that the European Way of Life is preferable to the American Dream."

Jan Fulton, coach of the winning Glasgow team, said: "I am very impressed and proud of my debaters and it's wonderful to win the Law Society of Scotland Donald Dewar Memorial Debate for the second year running, as [Mr Dewar] was a former pupil of the Academy and a stalwart of the Debating Society. It seems fitting that pupils from his former school should continue to follow in the footsteps of such a skilled and eloquent orator. We thoroughly enjoy participating in the Law Society Debate, as it is an extremely well organised and friendly debate and the day at the parliament is great fun for all the pupils.

"The feedback the pupils have received throughout the competition from the solicitors who have kindly given up their evenings to judge has helped Oscar and Seamus hone their skills immeasurably. We're already looking forward to next year."

Have your say