Back to top
News In Focus

Polls open for Society Council elections

9 May 2017

Voting has opened for this year's Law Society of Scotland Council elections.

Seventeen solicitors are competing for a total of seven seats across two constituencies covering five sheriff court districts.

Solicitors in Aberdeen, Banff, Peterhead and Stonehaven can vote online for their preferred candidate of the seven standing for two seats, and those in Edinburgh have a choice of 10 candidates for the five seats available – all as listed below.

Members have until 12 noon on Thursday 18 May 2017 to cast their vote on the members’ section of the Society’s website. The results will be announced shortly after the election closing date. The elected Council members will be invited to attend the 26 May meeting of Council.

Lorna Jack, chief executive of the Society, commented: “Constituency members have the opportunity to vote in Council elections every three years, so I can’t stress enough how important it is for solicitors in Edinburgh, Aberdeen, Banff, Peterhead and Stonehaven to take a few minutes to make sure that your interests are represented. Find out which of your colleagues is standing and get voting.”

Candidates for this year's contested Council seats are:

Aberdeen, Banff, Peterhead & Stonehaven (two Council seats):

Jacqueline Buchanan, Aberdeen City Council, Aberdeen
Jane Dickers, Peterhead and Ellon, Aberdeen
Deborah Edon, Stronachs LLP, Aberdeen
Geraldine Fraser, Aberdeenshire Council, Aberdeen
Jane MacEachran
Ross Taggart, Taggart Meil Mathers, Aberdeen
Deborah Anne Wilson, Wilson Defence, Banff

Edinburgh (five Council seats)

Colin Anderson, Edinburgh
Sheana Campbell, BBM Solicitors, Edinburgh
Stuart Carson, Wilson McLeod, Edinburgh
Brandon Malone, Brandon Malone & Co Ltd, Midlothian
Susan Murray, National Services Scotland, Edinburgh
Susan Oswald, SKO Family Law Specialists, Edinburgh
Jim Stephenson, Thorley Stephenson SSC, Edinburgh
Peter Tyson, Standard Life, Edinburgh
Sheila Webster, Davidson Chalmers LLP, Edinburgh
Scott Whyte, Watermans Solicitors, Edinburgh

To receive a paper ballot, please contact the Registrar team on or 0131 476 8367.



Have your say