Back to top
News In Focus

Ten lawyers among Parole Board appointments

19 April 2018

Six solicitors and four advocates are among a round of appointments to the Parole Board for Scotland, effective from this month.

Simon Di Rollo QC, Emma Doyle, solicitor and previously a general member, Bruce Erroch, a former senior advocate depute, Wendy Hay, advocate, Jill Malloy, solicitor, James McLean, solicitor, David Nicolson, advocate and Kate Phillips, solicitor advocate have been appointed as legal members.

Solicitors Kathryn Dawson and Julia Maclaren have been appointed as general members, along with former police commander Andrew Bates, former deputy prison governor Martin Macdonald, mental health nurse Sandra MacAlister, former prison governor Derek McGill, Professor of Criminology Gillian McIvor, consultant forensic clinical psychologist Morag Slessor and former prison governor Stephen Swan, a member of the Risk Management Authority.

All the appointments are for six years and run from 1 April 2018 until 31 March 2024, with a time commitment of eight to 10 days a month. Legal members receive a daily fee of £318 unless acting in the capacity of a general member, for which the daily fee is £205.

Have your say