Back to top
News In Focus

Ayla Iridag elected new SYLA President

17 May 2019

The Scottish Young Lawyers' Association has a new President and committee following its 2019 annual general meeting, held last night.

Ayla Iridag, a litigation solicitor at Clyde & Co, based in their Edinburgh office, was elected President for 2019-20. She has been a member of the SYLA committee since 2016.

Chiara Pieri of Shepherd & Wedderburn was elected Vice President, Laila Kennedy of the University of Aberdeen was elected treasurer and Claire Paterson of Slater + Gordon to the post of secretary. Jessica Weir (Pinsent Masons) will remain on the committee as Past President.

Graham Gibson (Clydesdale Bank) and Megan Lukins (MacRoberts) return to the non-executive committee for another year, and the committee also welcomes five new non-executive members: Amina Amin (Moss & Kelly), Natalie Bennett (Harper Macleod), Lynsey Reid (Burness Paull), Antonia Welsh (Clyde & Co) and Patricia Taylor (DWF).

Ms Iridag commented: "I'm honoured to have been elected as President of SYLA for the next year. We have a few new and exciting events planned for the coming year and I look forward to building on our recent successes. I take this opportunity to thank Jessica Weir and the outgoing committee for all their efforts and to welcome the new committee, with whom I'm looking forward to working over this next 12 months."


Have your say