Back to top

Twelve new Queen's Counsel appointed

14 September 09

Eleven advocates and one solicitor advocate awarded silk

Twelve new Queen’s Counsel have been appointed in Scotland.

The new appointees are: David A Stephenson, Geoffrey D Mitchell, P Jonathan Brodie, Simon D R Bowie, Angela T Grahame, Robert G Milligan, James D McF H Mure, Joanna C Cherry, Michael P Howlin, Andrew F Stewart, and Craig R K Sandison, all of whom are members of the Faculty of Advocates; and James D Keegan who is a solicitor advocate.

Those appointed were nominated by Lord Hamilton, the Lord Justice General, with whose agreement Sir William Rae acted as an independent observer for the process. He provided the First Minister with a separate report on his findings. Her Majesty the Queen accepted the First Minister's recommendation to make the appointments.

Before making recommendations, the Lord Justice General consults other judges, the Lord Advocate, the Dean of the Faculty of Advocates and the President of the Law Society of Scotland.